Right to Choose providers in England

Eight organisations publish Right to Choose pages for ADHD and/or autism assessment in England. What follows is what they claim on those pages as of 1 September 2026 — not a ranking, and not a verified contract register. NHS England’s qualifying-contract tests sit below so you can sanity-check. Check current wait on their site. Last checked: 1 September 2026.

Independent information site. Not the NHS, not a clinic, not a diagnostic service, and not a referral service. England only. A GP, dentist or optometrist must decide whether a first outpatient referral is clinically appropriate. We may receive a fee if you ask a listed clinic to contact you. See how we make money.

Written by Pete, editor, not a clinician.

How to use this table

Treat every cell as that organisation’s published claim, retrieved 1 September 2026 from the URL on their page. We have not checked a contract register. We do not rank clinics. We do not invent waits.

Two hard limits the pack records, because they change what you can ask a GP to name:

  • Psychiatry UK states NHS Right to Choose with them is adults 18+ only (ADHD and autism). They say they cannot do under-18 ADHD under RTC.
  • Evolve states they do not prescribe and do not offer shared care. Adult ADHD via RTC is not offered (private adult ADHD is a different product).

If ADHD medication might follow the assessment, read the titration and shared-care columns before you name anyone. Choice law does not force a GP to accept shared care.

Comparison (claims only)

Last checked: 1 September 2026.

Provider Age range they claim ADHD / autism they claim Online vs in-person Assessment only vs titration Shared-care stance they claim Wait on their RTC page
CARE ADHD Adults 18+; children/young people 6–18 ADHD. Autism not claimed on their RTC page Video Assessment, diagnosis and treatment; separate NHS titration-request page Not stated on the RTC page No numeric wait on the RTC page
Psychiatry UK Adults 18+ only for NHS RTC Adult ADHD and adult autism Fully online Assessment plus NHS-funded titration if applicable Not stated on the RTC page. Medication treatment only (no coaching/therapy on RTC) Snapshot quoted on their page (30 June 2026)
ADHD 360 Children 8+; they also say adults 16 years and older (both lines published; we do not reconcile them) ADHD. Autism not claimed on their RTC page e-Referral where appropriate; modality not specified on the RTC page They interpret the episode as assessment and treatment to stable, optimised medication Not stated on the RTC page No single national number on the RTC page
ProblemShared Autism 7+ and 18+; ADHD 18+. Children’s ADHD 7–17 listed as coming soon Adult ADHD; autism for children 7+ and adults. Do not treat children’s ADHD RTC as live Fully digital / online Titration where appropriate only after they have assessed you Not stated as a shared-care protocol. NHS prescription charge may apply Snapshot on their RTC page (26 June 2026)
Clinical Partners Children aged 5+, young people and adults ADHD assessments and medication; autism assessments All assessments online via secure video ADHD medication service including titration Shared care and ongoing specialist reviews (adults) claimed on their GP page Snapshot on their waits page (27 August 2026)
Innovate 18+ only Adult ADHD. Autism not claimed Video; face-to-face where the clinician deems it necessary Titration yes, but they say the medication pathway cannot start in the first 3 months after diagnosis Shared care supported; they say they can continue NHS prescriptions if the GP declines Snapshot on their NHS-patients page (30 August 2026). Do not read “no wait” as national
Evolve Children from 6; adults autism only Child ADHD; child and adult autism. No adult ADHD via RTC Clinics across England or online where appropriate Assessment and post-diagnostic guidance only. No prescribing No shared care — they do not prescribe. Medication = GP / local NHS Child assessment 12–16 months (snapshot on their RTC page)
Harrow Health Adults Adult ADHD only e-Referral; electronic prescribing to a pharmacy of choice. Not labelled online-only Assessment and treatment, including titration where clinically appropriate No shared care required — they say they manage prescribing and annual reviews No numeric wait. They say “short waiting times” without a number

Sanity-check: NHS England’s qualifying-contract tests

A provider’s marketing page is not the legal test. NHS England’s patient-choice guidance (19 December 2023) says the legal right, when it applies, is a choice of any clinically appropriate provider that already holds a qualifying NHS Standard Contract for the needed service with any ICB or NHS England, plus a clinically appropriate team. For mental health, including many ADHD and autism assessments, the first outpatient appointment may be with a consultant or a health care professional.

A qualifying contract, in that guidance (and in Standing Rules regulation 39(8)), is an NHS Standard Contract that:

  1. is signed and in effect before the referral date
  2. is a commissioning contract for the required service
  3. requires the service from a specified location or sets criteria for how it will be accessible (remote delivery can meet this)
  4. is not a spot purchase for a named individual

Commissioner prior approval is not required when the legal right applies. Remote ASD and ADHD assessments may fall within the right when the other tests are met — that is not a guarantee that every online clinic qualifies.

CQC registration is a separate check (it is one of the tests used when a commissioner assesses a new provider under Standing Rules 42C). It is not proof that Right to Choose applies to you.

We have not verified that any organisation in the table holds such a contract. Ask the provider, and ask your GP, on the day.

Waits

Where a provider published a number, the individual page quotes it as a dated snapshot with their URL. Where they did not, we say so and link out. Do not treat a snapshot as a live queue. Check current wait on their site. Last checked: 1 September 2026.

What you can do next

Pick a page, then:

  • I’ll ask my GP to name this providerhow to ask your GP. Naming them is a preference. Clinical appropriateness stays with the referrer.
  • Ask this clinic to contact meget help. Disclosure: we may receive a fee if you ask a listed clinic to contact you. That is not an NHS fee.

This site will not refer you. NHS-funded Right to Choose care is free at the point of use aside from limited exceptions such as standard prescription charges.

A charity starting index (not official, changes): ADHD UK Right to Choose hub.

Sources

Primary sources. Retrieved 1 September 2026.

  1. Patient choice guidance, NHS England, B1441, 19 December 2023. Qualifying NHS Standard Contract tests; any ICB or NHS England; no prior commissioner approval; remote ASD and ADHD assessments may be subject to the legal right when other conditions are met; referrers should consider ongoing care and shared-care protocols. Long-read
  2. NHS Standing Rules Part 8 (SI 2012/2996 as revised, including SI 2023/1105), regulation 39(8) qualifying contract; regulation 42C CQC and other qualification tests for new providers. Revised Part 8
  3. Each organisation’s own Right to Choose page (claims only): CARE ADHD · Psychiatry UK · ADHD 360 · ProblemShared · Clinical Partners · Innovate ADHD · Evolve Psychology · Harrow Health

Secondary (optional starting index, not law): ADHD UK, NHS Choices and Right to Choose hub. Hub

Last reviewed: 1 September 2026
Author: Pete, editor, not a clinician